Festival of the South Seas

Various Artists

Album Title: Festival of the South Seas

Artist(s): Various Artists

Year: 1961

Genre(s)/Style(s): Polynesian, Folk, World

Track Listing:

  1. Introducing Eddie Lund and Otea Dance
  2. The Tahiti Nui Club – Dance Song
  3. Daphne Walker – Sophisticated Hula
  4. Samoan Surf Riders – Malie E
  5. Bill Sevesi – Tiger Shark
  6. Eddie Lund and The Tahiti Nui Club – Drums Of Tahiti
  7. Daphne Walker – Little Brown Gal
  8. The Pacific Teenagers – Bulu Makau (The Bull Cow Song)
  9. Samoan Surf Riders – Minoi
  10. Daphne Walker – Kaahi
  11. Bill Sevesi – Twelfth Street Rag
  12. The Pacific Teenagerss – War Chant
  13. The Tahiti Nui Club – Te Manu Pukarua
  14. Daphne Walker – Ukulele Lady

Note: Something off? Please submit any album corrections in the comments.

Liner, Listening & Album Notes:

Recorded in the Town Hall on June 22nd 1961. at a concert sponsored by, Viking Record Company, David Dunningham and Tasman Empire Airways LTD.

The new digital version of this album (such as that seen on Spotify) has mislabeled all the tracks, each off by one.

Track #1 (listed as “Eddie Lund and Otea Dance”) is actually “Dance Song” by The Tahiti Nui Club; track #2 (listed as “Dance Song”) is actually “Sophisticated Hula” by Daphne Walker, and so on.)

Album Preview:

Care to Comment?