The Home Recordings Vol. 3

George de Fretes And His Royal Hawaiian Minstrels

Album Title: The Home Recordings Vol. 3

Artist(s): George de Fretes And His Royal Hawaiian Minstrels


Genre(s)/Style(s): Hawaiian, Polynesian, Folk, Other

Track Listing:

  1. Tomi Tomi
  2. Na Ka Pueo
  3. Ku’u Ipo I Ka Hee Pue One
  4. Ahe Nani Kauai
  5. Moonlight Over Molokai
  6. Maui Girl
  7. Maori Brown Eyes
  8. Really Do Care
  9. Puli Wai Mea
  10. Lovely Hula Girl
  11. Hame Pila
  12. Akaka Falls
  13. Kolopa
  14. Na Moku Eha
  15. Hu’i-E
  16. Kamalani-O-Keaukaha
  17. Hula O Makee
  18. Hanakahi
  19. Hula Blues
  20. Manu-O-O
  21. Maui Hula
  22. Aloha To Lovely You-Aloha Oe

Note: Something off? Please submit any album corrections in the comments.

Liner, Listening & Album Notes:

George de Fretes played an important role in the Hawaiian and Indo Rock Music scene. When he was sixteen years old he started his first musical group. He composed many new songs and played many traditionals. He also played many musical instruments like for example: trumpet, saxaphone, guitar and violin but he was world champion on steel guitar. He died in November 1981. After he died some family members continued with the Royal Hawaiian Minstrels. This album with 22 songs is part 3 of five unique albums he recorded at home. An nostalgic document. (see also the other 4 albums made by George De Fretes, his brother Peter De Fretes and cousin Roy de Fretes)

from the SAMSAM Music page for the album

See also:

Album Preview:

Care to Comment?