The Home Recordings Vol. 4

George de Fretes And His Royal Hawaiian Minstrels

Album Title: The Home Recordings Vol. 4

Artist(s): George de Fretes And His Royal Hawaiian Minstrels


Genre(s)/Style(s): Hawaiian, Polynesian, Folk, World

Track Listing:

  1. Little Brown Gal
  2. Molukai Nui Ahina
  3. Green Rose Hula
  4. Iniki Malie
  5. Royal Hawaiian Hula
  6. Waikiki
  7. Malihini Mele
  8. Starlight In Hawaii
  9. Paradise Waltz
  10. My Little Grass Shack
  11. A Million Moons Over Hawaii
  12. Honolulu (I’m Coming Back)
  13. I’m Getting Sentimental Over You
  14. Dargie’s Hula
  15. King’s Serenade
  16. Sea Breeze
  17. Heart Of Paradise
  18. How Do You Do
  19. Wailana
  20. Waktu Hujan Sore Sore
  21. Sajang Dilale
  22. I Wish They Didn’t Mean Goodbye

Note: Something off? Please submit any album corrections in the comments.

Liner, Listening & Album Notes:

George de Fretes played an important role in the Hawaiian and Indo Rock Music scene. When he was sixteen years old he started his first musical group. He composed many new songs and played many traditionals. He also played many musical instruments like for example: trumpet, saxaphone, guitar and violin but he was world champion on steel guitar. He died in November 1981. After he died some family members continued with the Royal Hawaiian Minstrels. This album with 22 songs is part 4 of five unique albums he recorded at home. An nostalgic document. (see also the other 4 albums made by George De Fretes, his brother Peter De Fretes and cousin Roy de Fretes)

from the SAMSAM Music page for the album

See also:

Album Preview:

Care to Comment?