Haruomi Hosono

Album Title: Paraiso

Artist(s): Haruomi Hosono

Year: 1978

Genre(s)/Style(s): Exotica, Jazz/Easy Listening, Other

Track Listing:

  1. “Tokio Rush” 3:31
  2. “Shimendōka” (四面道歌) 4:44
  3. “Japanese Rhumba” 3:34
  4. “Asatoya Yunta” (安里屋ユンタ) 2:15
  5. “Fujiyama Mama” 2:50
  6. “Femme Fatale” (妖婦 Yōfu) 5:00
  7. “Shambhala Signal” (シャンバラ通信 Shanbara Tsūshin) 3:36
  8. “Worry Beads” 4:28
  9. “Paraiso” (はらいそ Haraiso) 4:35

Note: Something off? Please submit any album corrections in the comments.

Liner, Listening & Album Notes:

Part of Haruomi Hosono’s mid-1970s “Exotica Trilogy” (along with Tropical Dandy,” in 1975, and Bon Voyage co,” in 1976). Part homage; part psychedelic off-shoot; part parody.

Hosono asks that the exotic dream continue, but with himself as both spectator and participant. He sees the exotica phenomenon for what it is — silly and patronizing — but adores it and revels in it … If you think too much about how the parody is eating its own tail, that this is “the Japanese way of exoticising American exoticism,” it’s dizzying.

Colin from Dinosaur Gardens

Album Preview:

Care to Comment?